Giro Giro Hitoshina, Kyoto

June 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

I would love to give you a full and detailed review of my meal at Giro Giro Hitoshina in Kyoto. Sadly a number of days have passed, and there was no written version of the menu we tasted. Our friendly and knowledgeable waiter came by throughout the course of the meal and gave us descriptions of each course, but unfortunately my memory is rather poor. I will, however, provide what I remember to the best of my abilities!

I believe this is sticky rice in broth (filled with something?) topped with a cherry leaf and rice puffs. While I don’t remember the exact components, I do remember that this started our meal on a high note.

Next was an assortment of appetizers. In the back: a small, pickled squid (strange and exceedingly acidic). There was also octopus, a slice of tamagoyaki, tofu, and a couple of other small components which I can no longer identify.

Next: sashimi!

Stewed pork belly (kakuni) in a rich, green (I think cabbage or pea) broth. I remember this dish well because it was probably my favorite (who can resist soft, fatty, melt-in-your-mouth pork belly?).

I believe this was a deep fried spring roll with three different sauces (two green, one red). The flavors were rich and well composed but one of the sauces was a little slimy.

Tempura with some type of jelly. I don’t remember exactly what the fish were (pretty sure they weren’t shishamo) but, following my adventures cooking wakasagi, I had a difficult time eating these. My dining companion, however, loved them.

Finally a trio of desserts (also my ochoko for sake). On the left: some type of stiff, jelly-like square with (I think!) a banana chip. In the middle: sweet lemon with some type of sauce (this was really good). On the right: matcha tiramisu (this was probably my favorite of the three).

While Giro Giro, like Kikunoi, can be classified as kaiseki, it’s a type of non-traditional, fusion kaiseki. And it’s wonderful. For innovative kaiseki on a budget, at around 3,600 yen, this is the place to go.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Giro Giro Hitoshina, Kyoto at gingerbread hansel.

meta

