Per Se, New York, NY

January 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

Per Se (Photo: niallkennedy)

Per Se! Finally! I can cross #1 off my list of RESTAURANTS I WILL EAT AT OR CRY. Unfortunately it was too dark for photos (there are some very lovely photos of a different tasting menu here). In any case, I was far too stupendously busy enjoying my selfish self. We had the chef’s tasting menu with a partial wine pairing and it was, as I suspected, a perfectly spectacular meal. I wouldn’t say that it was surprising, but it was done right, in every imaginable sense.

Salmon Tartare Coronets (Photo: roboppy)

The Salmon Tartare Coronets were one of two amuse-bouche.

Oysters and Pearls (Photo: roboppy)

Followed by the first course on our menu, the Oysters and Pearls (“Sabayon” of Pearl Tapioca with Island Creek Oysters and Sterling White Sturgeon Caviar).
This is the rest of our menu. For dessert my brother got the Champagne Apples while I opted for the Salted Chocolate Peanuts. They were both immaculate, but we both preferred the ones we ordered.

Coffee and Doughnuts (Photo: roboppy)

The ‘coffee’ component of the ‘Coffee and Doughnuts’ dessert (cinnamon sugar doughnuts with a cappuccino semifreddo topped with foam). I was already about to split at this point, but I still came close to eating the whole thing.

One thing I have to say is that I would have enjoyed the meal a lot more if I didn’t feel like I was going to die at the end. Half-tasting menu please?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Per Se, New York, NY at gingerbread hansel.

meta

