Fu Sing Shark Fin Seafood Restaurant, Hong Kong

October 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

Fu Sing is a relatively upscale Cantonese restaurant, not your standard, cart-style dim sum place. My expectation of the quality of the food (which was to be sorely disappointed) was based on a few sources but mainly on chowhound (at this point I am convinced that chowhound is as untrustworthy as yelp). I read that there is generally a several hour wait, so we made a reservation, but when we got there (Sunday morning), we found ourselves virtually alone.  We ordered a variety of dishes, which were generally edible, but by no means outstanding.

On the positive end: the egg tarts. Yes, the egg tarts were warm and creamy with a flaky crust. They were perfect, really, the best egg tarts I’ve had. They were also my first egg tarts in Hong Kong. I am inclined to believe that all HK egg tarts are vastly superior to their NY and SF brethren, so without a more thorough knowledge of them, I will hold off on finding these remarkable. That said, they were exceptionally good.

Secondly, the pork buns (right). These had a standard barbecued pork filling but the bun, instead of being the traditional steamed or baked variety, was something akin to Japanese melon-pan. It was sweet, crunchy, slightly caramelized. My initial reaction was that these were too sweet. The filling is already sweet, so they’re a bit of a sugar bomb. I’ll admit, I was eventually won over. They are intensely flavorful, if only the sweetness had been scaled back they would have been perfect.

The other dish we liked was the pork belly (which I believe is Hakka cuisine, specifically a dish called Mui Choy Kau Yuk, I could be wrong). I think that we liked the dish by virtue of the pork belly and the nature of the dish itself rather than any particularly good preparation by Fu Sing (it was a little greasy). Like the egg tarts, I think this dish would be as wonderful (or better) anywhere in Hong Kong. Pork belly is, in my opinion, a bit of a cheater’s meat anyway (i.e. it’s delicious no matter what).

On the less than satisfactory end of things we have a variety of greasy, flavorless dumplings (including a taro dumpling and a rather tough liver dumpling), shark fin soup with almost no shark fin but a distinct lack of flavor, and unremarkable lo mai gai (lotus leaf wrapped sticky rice).

This place has somehow managed to drum up seemingly universal rave reviews, which concerns me. If you are looking for the best dim sum in Hong Kong, like I was, do yourself a favor and look somewhere else.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fu Sing Shark Fin Seafood Restaurant, Hong Kong at gingerbread hansel.

meta

